Wayne State University

Aim Higher

Steering Committee

Steering Committee members are appointed by the Provost and are chosen from distinguished faculty and prominent community members. They advise the Director on policy and on all matters that help promote the mission of the Center.


Margaret Bruni, Assistant Director,
Detroit Public Library Main Branch

Dedria Bryfonski, Former President,
Gale Publishing

Karin McClow-Orr, Former Council Member,
Michigan Humanities Council

Kathleen McCrone, Professor Emeritus,
History, University of Windsor

Mysoon Rizk, Associate Professor,
Art, University of Toledo

Guy Stern, Distinguished Professor Emeritus,
CMLLC, Wayne State University

Tribute to Late Mildred Millie

The Late Mildred Millie

The Humanities Center mourns the passing of Mildred "Millie" Jeffrey in March, 2004. Millie Jeffrey, Professor Emeritus was a longtime friend and supporter of the Humanities Center. She was a faithful and active member of the Center's Steering Committee since its inception, attending meetings and Center events without fail, and contributing much to the formation and continuation of the Humanities Center's mission and success.